On my 4th birthday, my Mom, Gertie, gave me a hardback copy of P.D. Eastman's book 'Are You My Mother.' Although I have few memories of those early years (except a traumatic hospitalization when I was 2), I clearly remember the many nights I'd sit upon my Mom's lap while she read to me. I can still hear the inflection in her voice as she read the pages, using different voices for the different characters. I can still hear us talking about the poor little bird who'd lost her mother (but - ***spoiler alert***, not for long). I can still feel her touch on my head as I turned the pages, smell her light perfume that filled the air.

My Mom read 'Are You My Mother' to me so many times that I memorized the words and could recite them with her as she turned page after page. She though I was a genius - after all, I was 'reading' and hadn't even been enrolled in kindergarten yet.

Part of the beauty of childhood, to me at least, is to have these memories of the warmth and love of sitting on my Mom's lap and being read to. I believe that my Mom sparked my lifelong love of books and reading and knowledge with just that small investment of time during my youth. And, in my Mom's later years, there were many times when I repaid the favor and sat by her bedside and read to her. Those are also wonderful memories.

So, for Christmas this year, why not pick up a few good books for a young child? I like to pick up a selection of books at my local warehouse club and split them among my younger nieces and nephews. They're a bit large for stocking stuffers but they're always a very appreciated gift.

What adult can't recite the words 'Green Eggs and Ham, said Sam I am?' These were, and are, the books that have stood the test of time. They're as appropriate today as they were way back in my day (enough about that).

5 year old little Lori

I'm incredibly glad she was my mother

My parents in 1938.

You may also like...

Comments


Comments wanted and appreciated!

  • Follow
    Share to:
    Alert message
  • Amadeus00 Jan 03, 2014 @ 12:35 am
    ...heart warming childhood and adult memories through books...
  • libertyduckling Jan 02, 2014 @ 11:34 pm
    i remember this book
  • PamMorgan Jan 02, 2014 @ 2:21 pm
    I still remember reading this book with my mom as well. It was always one of our traditions to read before bed. Funnily enough, I still fall asleep better if I get the chance to read first.
  • TanoCalvenoa Jan 01, 2014 @ 6:04 pm
    My daughter loved the "scary snort" (a large bulldozer type thing), and for awhile would point out anything large (like some cranes doing construction) and call them "scary snorts."
  • GrammaLinda Dec 29, 2013 @ 9:48 pm
    This was my sister's favorite book. If I 'read' it for too long, she was upset. I loved it, too. My kids also enjoyed it at nap and bed time.
  • eilval Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:07 am
    Fascinating lens and an awesome story - love Dr. Seuss Books !
  • RazzbarryBreeze Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:21 am
    Hands down one of my favorite Dr. Seuss Books. Loved your lens and Happy New Year to you.
  • Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:31 am
    haven't tried them, might borrow from library
  • sierradawn Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:36 pm
    Love Dr. Seuss books!!!
  • debbs357 Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09 pm
    Dr. Seuss books are great, I just wished I'd have kept all of ours, but with moving from house to house, you loose track of them. Enjoye
  • DLeighAlexander Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:11 pm
    Love the Dr. Seuss book collection. I still have some very old copies of these books. My favorites were Green Eggs & Ham and Go Dog Go, which even still reminds me of exotic hats!
  • Steve_Kaye Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48 am
    Beautiful, heart warming story. Thank you for publishing this review. I think many adults could also benefit from reading these books.
  • esmonaco Dec 13, 2013 @ 8:57 pm
    A very heart warming story, I loved every word and your pictures. Thanks
  • susan-zutautas Dec 13, 2013 @ 9:17 am
    I love this book. I used to volunteer to help kids learn how to read and this book was one of their favorites.
  • KathyT Dec 13, 2013 @ 8:41 am
    This is such a lovely review and story! My Dad read to me so much, and not only instilled a love of reading, but gave me memories that will last forever. I love your photos, too. Beautiful job.
  • adventuretravelshop Dec 13, 2013 @ 3:43 am
    I love your photographs. Your mom did you the biggest favor by reading to you every night. That's the ideal! As a teacher I always tell parents that the best way to support their children is by introducing them to good books, read to them every night until they are old enough to read to you. But it doesn't stop there, parents should help their teens to become readers by sourcing great books for them each week. Thanks for this lens. Congratulations on LoTD.
  • grammieo Dec 12, 2013 @ 6:47 pm
    We read to our children every night as well, they love books, all of them. My husband would read them backwards and drive the kids bonkers, because they knew that was NOT how the story went, but all of us would break down in laughter! Great memories!
  • RoadMonkey Dec 12, 2013 @ 6:41 pm
    I used to read this book to my children from the library. It got taken out quite often, along with Petunia beware! Children just love this book. It was so nice to hear your memories of being read to. I hope my children and grandchildren have those memories too.
  • OhMe Dec 12, 2013 @ 4:47 pm
    Beautiful review! Enjoyed
  • getmoreinfo Dec 12, 2013 @ 4:45 pm
    I loved these books growing up, such great memories.
  • ComfortsOfHome Dec 12, 2013 @ 2:22 pm
    My little niece loved this book when she was a toddler. I remember "playing" it with her, going for walks - she'd talk to trees and birds and everything, "Are _you_ my mother?" So cute.
  • JustinLCroft Dec 12, 2013 @ 1:21 pm
    I'm happy to say that my wife and I have been lucky enough to read Are You My Mother and other classics like Goodnight Moon and The Runaway Bunny to our (brand new!) six week old son. What a joy! It makes me so happy to read to him.
  • seenamary Dec 12, 2013 @ 1:19 pm
    Thank God for mothers who find time for such simple things as reading to their children when there are a hundred other 'more important things' needing their attention.
  • glowchick Dec 12, 2013 @ 12:41 pm
    I love this book! I always made it very fun for my kids, such special memories :)
  • DebW07 Dec 12, 2013 @ 12:07 pm
    I remember this book! Nice review.
  • RockinPicks Dec 12, 2013 @ 10:21 am
    My Oldest memorized books so easily when it came time for her to read we had to ask her to read the books backward so we knew she was reading and not reciting.
  • Mommie-Moola Dec 12, 2013 @ 9:06 am
    One of our family favorites!
  • Upon-Request Dec 12, 2013 @ 8:40 am
    I remember reading this one a few times :)
  • vallain Dec 11, 2013 @ 7:34 pm
    I don't know how Mom found the time to read to us since there were 6 kids in the family. Somehow, she did and I'm glad. Having a book like this and reading it to your child is so important.
  • nancycarol Dec 11, 2013 @ 4:49 pm
    You are so right my friend. I learned to love reading because my Mom and Dad both read to me from the time I was little. What wonderful memories this kind of review evokes for me. I read to my kids too, and I so hope they have those fond memories too. Nice review, thanks for sharing.